Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 5:52 am

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
 Progressive Collision Service Center - Coon Rapids 
 Post subject: Progressive Collision Service Center - Coon Rapids
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:30 pm 

Not sure what to make of this one. I saw this sign on the door to the Progressive Insurance facility in Coon Rapids....haven't seen this variety yet and am interested in your thoughts.

Quote:
"Unless otherwise authorized by law, no person shall possess, have under the person's control, convey, or attempt to convey a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance onto these premises."

I'm not a lawyer...but aren't permit holders authorized by law? So what the heck does "Unless otherwise authorized..." mean?

Post subject: Re: Progressive Collision Service Center - Coon Rapids
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 3:07 pm 
Forum Moderator/<br>AV Geek

DrSIG226 wrote:
"Unless otherwise authorized by law, no person shall possess, have under the person's control, convey, or attempt to convey a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance onto these premises."

I would like a picture of the sign if anyone could get it. Sounds like a misleading sign that would fool most (common; non-TCCF'er) permit holders.
DrSIG226 wrote:
I'm not a lawyer...but aren't permit holders authorized by law?

Depends on who you ask. If you ask the post office, they claim we are not authorized ( :wink: ). Yes, we are authorized by law to carry our firearms.
DrSIG226 wrote:
So what the heck does "Unless otherwise authorized..." mean?

It's just one way to word a statement. 'You cannot have a weapon, unless authorized by law'.