Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 9:09 am

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Gun newbie here, questions re: buying, trying, and education 
 Post subject: Gun newbie here, questions re: buying, trying, and education
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:54 pm 
Longtime Regular

Now that I've outed myself as truly uneducated in the niceties of handguns, I should be safe from foot in mouth disease, right?

OK, here's where I'm at:
I have a couple friends with Carry permits and have been shooting a few times. I think fireatms must be the most addictive thing I've ever experienced. But, I have no real prctical experience.

I've never (yet) purchased a handgun. I've never (yet) purchased ammunition outside of a range. So, to say I have a few questions would be an understatement.

1) Education...
I need to learn to care for whatever gun I buy. How should I go about that?

I'm considering a Carry class but for my immediate needs (read: a handgun fix :D ) it's not strictly necessary

What should I buy (I know, here comes the flood... ). I SHOULD buy a revolver. the logical side of me points that direction... but I think I've fallen for a XD something :-)

2) The gun itself
What is the ettiquette at a gun shop? How do I not come off as a complete asshat know nothing?

Try before you buy? how does that work? or does it exist? I'd hate to pay $15 a gun for the 6 or so guns I'd like to try. (Spring shooter's show is soon, but come on, we're talkign a couple weeks here ...

What do I need to to purchase a handgun?

3) what are the things I left out?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:07 pm 
Longtime Regular

You'll get lots of different answers to your questions. Here are mine.