Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:51 am

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 S&W 642 for first CC weapon? 
 Post subject: S&W 642 for first CC weapon?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:34 pm 

Interested in getting opinions on the suitability of a S&W 642 .38 for my wife who has never carried concealed, or for that matter has much firearms experience. I have big hands and like 1911 type pistols. My wife has been handling a lot of different guns and says that the 642 feels the best.

I have very little experience carrying snubbies. I'm kind of concerned about muzzle blast and recoil and the fact that there's no safety or external hammer. Would it benefit from a trigger job and an upgrade to the sights? And does anyone know where she'd be likely to find the best price on one?

We're going to Bill's this weekend, they have a similar revolver that she's going to try out and see how she likes it. I know there's some people on here that carry them, just interested in your opinions and will show them to her if anyone would like to offer constructive advice and experience. She's internet forum shy so I'm asking for her. :)

This forum and several members personally have been a great help to us. Thanks!

Hobie

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:46 pm 
Longtime Regular

Small and light revolvers can offer pretty violent recoil, and aren't the best choice for somebody new to shooting. The long, heavy trigger pull is a safety feature and should not be modified on a carry gun.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:57 pm 
Longtime Regular